Lansing Community College

This standing committee of the Academic Senate provides leadership and support related to academic courses and curricula to ensure that academic standards are maintained.

  • Committee Charter

    Charge to the Committee
    • Identify and resolve technology related issues that affect the teaching and learning process.
    • Identify, test, and implement innovative technology solutions that support effective teaching pedagogies.
    • Identify and remove technology barriers to student success.
    • Engage in dialog and collaborate with faculty consumers of technology to advance the teaching and learning mission of the college.
    • Collaborate with Academic Senate Standing Committees on issues related to technology.
    • Effectively communicate updates, as needed, about technology items related to continuous improvement of student learning.
    • Regularly report the TAC Committee's progress to the Academic Senate, retain committee approved meeting minutes, and maintain a representative membership.
    • Co-Chairs (An administrator and a faculty member at least one who shall be an Academic Senator)
    • 70% faculty (full-time and part-time continuing contract status [not just Senators])
    • A minimum of one Academic Senator from each of the four academic divisions. 
    • Members from each of the following Divisions
      • Arts & Sciences
      • Health & Human Services
      • Technical Careers
      • Community Education and Workforce Development
      • Information Technology Services
      • Center for Teaching Excellence
      • eLearning
      • Student Representative (Preferred)
    • Ex-officio Members
      • Academic Senate President per Senate Bylaws
    • Resources
      • IT Subject Matter Experts
      • Center for Data Sciences
      • Academic Affairs
      • Student Affairs
    • A member should not miss more than 2 meetings per academic year
    Member and Co-Chair selection

        Will be appointed by the Executive Committee of the Academic Senate


         No term limits

  • Committee Members

    Bruce Farris, Co-Chair (Faculty)
    Chemistry, Arts & Sciences

    Bill Garlick (Administrative)
    Chief Information Officer, Information Technology

    Andrew George (Subject Matter Expert Resource)
    Center for Student Access, Student Affairs

    John Hendzel (Subject Matter Expert Resource)
    System Administrator, ITS

    Jennifer Hilker (Faculty)
    Kinesiology/Health/Wellness, Health & Human Services

    Dan Holt (Faculty)
    English, Arts & Sciences

    Susan Jepsen (Faculty)
    Nursing, Health & Human Services

    Megan Lin (Faculty)
    Director, Center for Teaching Excellence

    Jim Luke (Faculty)
    Economics, Arts & Sciences

    Robin McGuire (Faculty)
    Biology, Arts & Sciences

    Joann Silsby (Faculty)
    Computer Information Technology, Technical Careers

    Christopher Richards (Subject Matter Expert Resources)
    CMS Instructional Design, Multimedia, & Technology Specialist, eLearning

    Melissa Scenga (Support)
    Administrative Assistant, Information Technology

    Paul Schwartz (Administrative)
    Information Security/Records Mgmt., ITS

    Marc Smyth (Subject Matter Expert Resource)
    Manager Classroom Services, ITS

    John Szilagyi (Subject Matter Expert Resource)
    Director, Library

    Mark Tesone (Subject Matter Expert Resources)
    Director, Enterprise Systems-ITS

    Brenda Young (Administrative)
    Director, Technology Support Services - ITS

    Director, IT Infrastructure

  • Meetings & Reports

    All meetings of the Technology Across the Curriculum (TAC) are open to the public. The AY22-23 meeting dates are listed below. Please contact the Committee Chair, or contact the Academic Senate's Secretary for information.

    Fall 2022
    Spring 2023
  • Reports to the Academic Senate

    The Task Log lists "active" and "completed" topics and related meeting notes that the Committee addressed over a period of time.

    Task Log

Archived Meeting Minutes

Contact the Provost

Administrative Building at LCC

Administration Bldg, Room 301

Sally Welch
Phone: (517) 483-1725

Laura Medina
Administrative Assistant to the Provost
Phone: (517) 483-1725
Fax: (517) 483-1845


Additional Contact