Lansing Community College

The purpose of this standing committee is to enhance student learning and the student experience at Lansing Community College by providing student input and advice to the Academic Senate concerning College-wide issues in order to guide the work of the Academic Senate.

  • Committee Charter

    Charge to the Committee
    • Provide input to the Academic Senate on decisions that impact students.
    • Advise the Academic Senate regarding the effect of the college's operations and policies on students.
    • Establish effective strategies for collecting representative information on the student learning experience at LCC.
    • Analyze and share this information with the subcommittees of the academic senate as well as the academic senate at large.
    • Interact directly with student populations.
    • Collaborate with Academic Senate Standing Committees to address issues that impact students.
    • Collaborate with the Center for Engaged Inclusion, the Student Ombudsman, and the Director of Student Life.
    • Regularly report to the Academic Senate on progress, retain committee approved meeting minutes, and maintain a representative membership.
    • The Chair must be an Academic Senator who is also a member of the faculty.
    • A Vice-Chair, if needed, will be appointed under the director of the Executive Committee from amongst the membership of the committee.
    • A minimum of 2 Academic Senators. 
    • Minimum of 6 other college personnel
    • Minimum of 8 students from the areas listed below
    • Student members from each of the following areas
      • Arts & Sciences
      • Health & Human Services
      • Technical Careers
      • Veteran's Affairs
      • ACCESS
      • CCLC - Cesar Chavez Learning Center
    • Ex-officio Members
      • Academic Senate President per Senate Bylaws
      • Director of the Center for Engaged Inclusion
      • Student Ombudsman
      • Director of Student Life
    • A member should not miss more than 2 meetings a semester
    Member and Co-Chair selection

         Will be appointed under the direction of the Executive Committee

    • A term of one year for students (renewable for one additional year)
    • No term limits
  • Committee Members

    Veronica Wilkerson-Johnson, Chair (Faculty)
    English, Arts & Sciences

    Fran Krempasky, SAC Subcommittee Chair (Faculty)
    Library Technical Services & System, Student Affairs

    Armando Arevalo (Faculty)
    Academic Success Coach, Student Affairs

    Daniel K. Arnold

    Alex Azima (Faculty)
    Physical Sciences, Arts & Sciences

    Josiah Beauchaine (Student)
    Student Senator

    Danni Bott

    Caleb Caballero

    Debra Coulston-Kwapisz (Administrative)
    Coordinator, ACCESS Program

    Elizabeth Clifford (Faculty)
    Mathematics Tutor, Learning Commons

    Bill Garlick (Administrative)
    Chief Information Officer, Information Technology

    Linda Hamblin (Administrative)
    Director, eLearning Department

    Greg Lattig (Administrative)
    Athletic Director

    Bruce Mackley (Administrative)
    Director, Marketing

    Unique Major

    Ronda Miller (Administrative)
    Dean, Student Affairs

    Keshawn Mitchell-Roland

    Mukanoheri Mukeshimana

    Paul Palmer

    Meghan Patterson

    Baron Pham

    Ashlee Podleski (Administrative)
    Coordinator, Adult Resource Center 
    (Non-Traditional/Special Populations)

    Louise Rabidoux (Faculty)
    Counseling, Student Affairs

    Chris Richards (Administrative)
    Instructional Designer, eLearning

    Brian Ringstaff

    Andrea Sanchez (Student)
    Student Senator

    Joann Silsby (Faculty)
    Computer Information Technology, Technical Careers

    Chris Smelker (Faculty)
    Surgical Technology, Health & Human Services

    Alyssa Snelson

    Austin Suddieth

    Jon Ten Brink (Faculty)
    Music, Arts & Sciences

  • Meeting Dates & Times

    All meetings of the Student Advisory Committee (SAC) are open to the public. The AY22-23 meeting dates are listed below. Please contact the Committee Chair, or contact the Academic Senate's Secretary for information.

    Fall 2022
    • August 25, 2022 11:30 a.m.
    • September 22, 2022 11:30 a.m.
    • October 20, 2022 11:30 a.m.
    • November 17, 2022 11:30 a.m.
    • December 2, 2022 11:30 a.m.
    Spring 2023
    • January 12, 2023 11:30 a.m.
    • February 9, 2023 11:30 a.m.
    • March 9, 2023 11:30 a.m.
    • April 6, 2023 11:30 a.m.
    • May 4, 2023 11:30 a.m.
  • Project: Food Pantry

    Samantha Wigard (Faculty)
    Academic Success Coach, Student Affairs

    Beth Baldwin
    Okemos Food Pantry


Archived Meeting Minutes

Contact the Provost

Administrative Building at LCC

Administration Bldg, Room 301

Sally Welch
Phone: (517) 483-1725

Laura Medina
Administrative Assistant to the Provost
Phone: (517) 483-1725
Fax: (517) 483-1845


Additional Contact