Lansing Community College

This standing committee of the Academic Senate will provide faculty input and advice to the administration concerning priorities in the College-wide deployment of capital or financial resources and provide a voice for programs concerned about budgetary issues, except as covered by the scope of collective bargaining.

  • Committee Charter

    Charge to the Committee
    • Represent the Academic Senate in providing input to the college early in the budgeting process before decisions are made regarding educational issues, capital improvements, and deployment of financial and human resources (including grant funding).
    • Make recommendations to the administration concerning issues of college-wide priorities and participate in budget development meetings as decisions are being made and before a final budget is submitted to the Board of Trustees.
    • Provide input regarding Full-Time Faculty Prioritization.
    • Encourage all faculty and administration to participate in a continuous quality improvement model for a collaborative and transparent budget-building process.
    • Represent the Academic Senate and facilitate dialogue among the Academic Senate, administration, and faculty throughout the budget process to encourage ongoing dialogue in budget meetings, particularly at the program, department and divisional level.
      • Alert Academic Senators to key points in the budget cycle and equip senators to participate in conversations with their program leads, department chairs, and deans.
      • Assist faculty and departments in understanding the importance of Program Operating Plans and their impact on budget.
      • Be a resource to the Academic Senate regarding the budgeting process and the ongoing budget cycle.
      • Represent the Academic Senate at budgetary meetings with labor coalitions and special meetings.
      • Represent the Academic Senate at Program Review meetings.
      • Provide input and advice to the Academic Senate, deans, other divisional leadership, provost, and college president, as increased investment, as reallocations, cuts, or adjustments are made.
    • Provide a voice for those in the LCC community, including dissenting views, through regular analysis and discussion of budget priorities with senior leadership should budgetary issues arise.
    • Take on special projects related to budgetary issues as requested by the president of the Academic Senate or provost and approved by the committee.
    • The Chair must be a faculty member of the Academic Senate.
    • The Chair and Vice-Chair will be appointed by the Academic Senate President from amongst the membership of the committee.
    • 70% teaching faculty (fulltime and/or adjunct)
    • A minimum of 4 Academic Senators.
    • Representation from each division of the College will be encouraged
      • Arts & Sciences (3)
      • Health & Human Services (3)
      • Technical Careers (3)
      • Community Education & Workforce Development (1)
      • Student Affairs (1)
      • Non-teaching members
    • Ex-officio Members
      • Academic Senate President per Senate Bylaws
    • Resource Members
      • Chief Financial Officer and/or designee(s)
      • Other members as necessary
    Member and Chair Selection

    Will be appointed by the President of the Academic Senate


    A maximum of 6 years

    Stagger every 3 years

    Charter Approval

    The above CC charter was approved by the Academic Senate on March 26, 2021.

  • Budget Committee Members

    Denise Warner, Chair (Faculty)
    English, Arts & Sciences

    Gerard Haddad, Vice-Chair (Faculty)
    Economics, Arts & Sciences

    Alexandra Beard (Faculty)
    Economics, Arts & Sciences

    Nancy Dietrich (Administrative)
    Director, Lifelong Learning & Extension Centers

    Lisa Whiting Dobson (Faculty)
    Digital Media, Audio & Cinema, Arts & Sciences

    Andrea Hoagland (Administrative)
    Dean, Arts & Sciences

    Eva Menefee (Faculty)
    Advising, Student Affairs

    Jean Ramirez (Faculty)
    Sociology, Arts & Sciences

    Kabeer Ahammad Sabir (Faculty)
    Biology, Arts & Sciences

    Jon Ten Brink (Faculty)
    Music, Arts & Sciences

    Richard Williams (Faculty)
    Community Education & Workforce Development

  • Meetings & Reports

    All meetings of the Budget Committee are open to the public. The AY22-23 meeting dates are listed below. Please contact the Committee Chair, or contact the Academic Senate's Secretary for information.

    Fall 2022
    Spring 2023
    • January 13, 2023
      8:10 a.m.
    • January 27, 2023
      8:10 a.m.
    • February 10, 2023
      8:10 a.m.
    • February 24, 2023
      8:10 a.m.
    • March 10, 2023
      No meeting - Spring Break
    • March 10, 2023
      8:10 a.m.
    • April 7, 2023
      8:10 a.m.
    • April 21, 2023
      8:10 a.m.
    • May 5, 2023
      8:10 a.m.

Archived Meeting Minutes


Contact the Provost

Administrative Building at LCC

Administration Bldg, Room 301

Sally Welch
Phone: (517) 483-1725

Laura Medina
Administrative Assistant to the Provost
Phone: (517) 483-1725
Fax: (517) 483-1845


Additional Contact