Ask A Librarian
Main Content

Lansing Community College Library Services



One Book One LCC

Read. Engage. Grow.

One Book One LCC is a shared community reading experience that encourages students, faculty, and staff to engage in special events, discussions, and college-wide conversations surrounding a thought provoking common read.

Tomatoland by Barry Estabrook Book Cover

Outliers
by Malcolm Gladwell

Get the Book

LCC Library

Available in print or on Kindle.

Borrow From Another Library

Request a copy from another Library through MelCat (7-10 days for delivery) or check out a book from a public library in your community.

Outliers Research Guide

Use the Outliers research guide to learn more about the book and explore related themes.

Assignment Ideas Bank

Have an idea for integrating Outliers and into the classroom? Share your ideas in the One Book One LCC Ideas Bank.

Suggest a Future title



previous titles

2014-2015

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot

2015-2016

The True American by Anand Giridharadas

2017-2018

Tomatoland by Barry Estabrook

Steering committee

Program Coordination

Susan Murphy
Reference and Instruction Librarian
murphs12@lcc.edu

Vince Thurman
Coordinator, Centre for Engaged Inclusion
thurmanv@lcc.edu

Committee Members

Patti Ayers
Student Life and Leadership
ayersp@lcc.edu

David Barker
Marketing
barkerd2@star.lcc.edu

Eileen Berry
LCC East
berrye9@star.lcc.edu

Meg Elias
Biology Program Faculty
clarkm1@star.lcc.edu

Nick Evans
Student

Reid Felsing
Paralegal Program Faculty
felsingr@star.lcc.edu 

McKenzie Firstbrook
Library
firstbrm@star.lcc.edu

Jay Hansor
Student

Anne Heutsche
History Program Faculty
heutsa@star.lcc.edu  

Nan Jackson
Math Program Faculty
jackson@star.lcc.edu

Robin Pizzo
CCAMPIS Grant Program Director & Student Success Coach
pizzor1@star.lcc.edu

Susan Serafin
English Program Faculty
serafins@star.lcc.edu

Pamela Smith
Sociology Program Faculty
smithp22@star.lcc.edu

Karen Tommasulo
Marketing
tommasuk@star.lcc.edu

Margo Whalen
Administration
whalenm2@star.lcc.edu

More Events


Quick Links